ORIGAMI

I am a nursing student.
I haven’t even become a working staff yet,
But I have witnessed so much already…
Pain… Suffering… Anxiety… And death!
And not to forget the Sadness that follows.One monday morning, we went to the Oncology (cancer) ward. It was nothing different, just the usual.
Beds covered in white sheets, patients lying on it,
Group of doctors deep in a discussion in a bedside,
Nurses bustling around one patient after another,
Attenders making sure the floor is sparkling clean.#Day_1There I saw a young boy 14 years old and was diagnosed with a relapse of Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL). His mother asked me if I could look after his son while she go and get breakfast for him. I agreed.After I finished my morning patient care, I went to the boy and we started talking. He said he was bored and I taught him how to make Origami crane. I told him that it meant ‘Get well soon’.#Day_2When I saw him the next day, his bed was full of paper cranes. He even distributed those paper cranes to us. One for his mom, one for his uncle, one for the doctor, one for each of the nurses… He even distributed them to his neighbouring patients.”Didi, will you be working in this hospital in the future?”
“Ummm… I haven’t decided yet. Why?”
“I want to be a doctor and work in this hospital.” He replied cheerfully.
That night I stood on my knees and prayed for his recovery.#Day_3He was posted for a lumbar puncture procedure (a needle is inserted to the spine).
“Are you scared?” I asked.
“No, I am used to it. I have been getting it my whole life.”
He brushed it off casually.
“Doesn’t it hurt?”
“Not more that my legs. I wish I can walk and run again. I miss playing cricket.”
“And what else do you like?” I changed the topic. I did not have the courage to give him false hope.#Day_4He was sleeping so deeply after the lumbar puncture procedure. His mother called me aside and asked, “My son will be healed, right?”
“The doctors are doing their best. And I personally will keep praying for him. And if it makes you feel better there are many others who had this disease but are completely cured now.”#Day_5He called me from his bed. He was as energetic as ever.
“Didi, is today your last day in this ward?”
“Yes, dear!”
“Will you come see me again?”
“I can’t promise you but I’ll try.”
“Oh..” He seemed disappointed.That evening, when I went near him to bade goodbye,
He smiled and said, “This is for you, didi.”
And there in his palm was a huge Origami crane sitting on a paper star.
“Thank you.” That was all I could say as I looked into his sparkling bright eyes.#Day___I heard that he got discharged after a while.
I was wondering if he can walk again now.
But then I got a message that broke my heart.Shantanu Baruah passed away on 23rd August 2019 because of a fall and severe bleeding.

-Ayesha Mochari

Leave a comment